Living in the UK

Article Index

The United Kingdom (UK) is made up of four countries: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. The full name is "The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland". England, Wales and Scotland together make up Great Britain (GB, or just Britain). Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland (which is also known as Eire) together make up Ireland. Britain and Ireland are sometimes known together as the British Isles.

These are some of the features of the UK which you may want to consider when deciding if you wish to study here:


Note that there are good and bad sides to each characteristic, and there are many exceptions to these stereotypes.


There is a wide mix of cultures in the UK. In London there are foreign communities from most parts of the world.


British people are usually tolerant of foreigners, and respect the freedom to have different opinions and beliefs.



People usually feel free to express their own opinions and wear what they want. Don't expect people to agree with you all of the time.



British people have a strong sense of humour, but it can be hard for foreigners to understand when someone is joking.


Connect with us

43-47 New Broadway, Ealing, London W5 5AH, United Kingdom

  • dummy +44 (0) 203 686 1714

  • dummy info@amitycollege.co.uk

  • Amity College,College,London,